9. ITTLG label

A label I’ve set up to accompany this blog.

Old music, new music, always great music, always great stories.

Artists in alphabetical order:

Herbie Airto

Unknown Passenger’ e.p. re released June 2020. ‘Childsplay’ recieved XFM radio plays.

Originally I released a one off single, ‘Childsplay’ and it was followed by the four track ‘Unknown Passenger’ e.p. This time round I have combined all the tracks to make this a glorious five track e.p.

I put this video for ‘Childsplay’ together using skate clips from YouTube.

This wonderful animation for ‘Joy’ has been done by Matthew Whitmore, who I first came across when he won the 2019 White Elephant Film Festival.

Read the full interview with Herbie Airto here.

J.D. and Bob

‘Found’ mini album

Demos that were recorded for Island Records in 1998, the cassette was lost, then found again in 2018. Featuring Jo Bartlett, Danny Hagan, Bob Whittle and Mathew Priest.

For the full story click here.

New Tennessee Waltz

The e.p. is a collection of songs recorded on cassette in 1986 by New Tennessee Waltz. Based in Fleet, Hampshire, the band were regulars at The Buzz Club in Aldershot, where they supported The June Brides and The BMX Bandits. If they weren’t on stage, they were usually in the crowd. They played semi-acoustic guitars and wore great clothes.

The Ruby Tuesdays

‘That Doesn’t go There’ e.p. released 20th January 2020

Originally released as a 12″ single on Push Records in 1990.

Video made using footage of dancers at Shelly’s Night club in Stoke (where the band were from) from the same era. It works strangely well with the track!

Read more about this release here.

Sons of the Descent

‘Physics of Angels’ released 5 July 2019 / Re released May 2020 with extra track.

Sons of the Descent are a Scottish three-piece rich in musical history. Based in Edinburgh and FifeHugh Duggie, Stephen Evans and Ian White together bring a touch of independent music royalty to the label.

Ian, from the band is great friends with my brother Tom and we always enjoy talking about music in depth whenever we see each other. Ian was previously signed to Factory Records as part of The Wendys.

I’m also delighted to say that Grant McPhee director of ‘ Big Gold Dream’ was especially commissioned by the band to produce the ‘Physics of Angels’ video.

Grant’s work ‘Big Gold Dream’, focusing on Scotland’s post-punk culture, was the winner of the Edinburgh International Film Festival Audience Award a couple of years ago.